Friday, September 12, 2014

the scaring apirit warriors review

This book was wonderful to read. I loved the involvement of the animals. Its different then other books but just as good. I will be reading the otuer book in this series.

Saturday, September 6, 2014

Eyes of the Enemy

Hidden deep inside a meandering ravine, nestled beneath the darkoak trees of BlackMyst, the village of Veiled Gorge was a secret gem, revealed only to those curious and brave enough to follow the meager road that wound deep into the forested gully. Some twenty-five quaint and simple homes stood sheltered within the ravine, hidden beneath the forest’s mighty branches. Tucked away along the eastern border of Delvengard, Veiled Gorge was often forgotten or ignored by the outside world, and this suited the villagers just fine. Originally established as a commune for peace-loving peasants looking to escape the atrocities of the war-torn kingdom, Veiled Gorge remained a safe and secluded community.
The village had evolved over the years from a mishmash of people with a common dream of peaceful living into a colony of talented woodworkers, fabricating fine works of art and furniture from the wood of the surrounding trees. The villagers worked in harmony as a collaborative team to create pieces to be sold or bartered to traveling merchants who frequently visited Veiled Gorge.


-------
Beynn Firehand was twelve years old. This was significant only in the fact that it had also been twelve years since the end of the Sorak War. As his father had told and retold him a hundred times, Beynn’s mother had died giving birth to him on the very day that fighting finally ended between the Kingdom of Delvengard and the Sorak. This fact had always brought a sense of sadness and more than a bit of guilt to Beynn.
His father, Gerran, had been a soldier in the King’s Army and had fought in the war against the Sorak. He met and fell in love with Serraif, Beynn’s mother, in a village along the front line of battle. As his father described her, Serraif was both beautiful and kind. She had passed her sleek dark hair and blue eyes on to Beynn, a contrast to his father’s blond locks and green eyes. Beynn had the best of both worlds, his father would say. Tall and strong like his father, with the good looks of his mother. Although his father would often reassure him that his mother would have willingly died a thousand times over if it were that he could live, Beynn still felt some responsibility for her death.


-------
When he opened his eyes he saw the branch. It was an enormous giant of a branch overhanging the path on which the Sorak were heading. An image flashed in Beynn’s mind of that branch falling and crushing the Sorak as they walked underneath it. Beynn looked away. This was no time for silly thoughts. The Sorak continued to get closer and closer. They needed to run, Beynn thought. But, he needed to hide their tracks somehow.
His eyes moved back to the branch, the one that was going to break and fall. Beynn closed his eyes tight. Forget the branch! His mind reeled. He knew they had to get away; they had to run. He opened his eyes and stared at the branch. His focus became clear. The Sorak neared. Beynn’s breathing slowed, all of his muscles tensed, his eyelids closed halfway. He watched the branch and he knew it would fall.


-------
It was late afternoon when they finally reached the clearing. This was where Beynn and his father had always camped during their travels to his uncle’s house. Beynn set up camp while Fritz went to gather wood for a fire. Beynn was pulling blankets from his pack when he heard a scratching sound. He looked up, thinking Fritz had returned with firewood. Instead, he found a six-foot long gorkin staring at him from the middle of the clearing. Gorkins were large grayish-green lizards that inhabited BlackMyst. They were fast runners and packed a viscous bite. Although not poisonous, they were well known to bite off people’s limbs with their razor-sharp teeth.
Beynn stayed crouched and continued to dig in his pack blindly, unwilling to take his eyes off of the gorkin. Finally he found his knife, and gripping it firmly, he stood up and backed away from the predator. He moved slowly around the edge of the clearing until he faced the area of the forest where Fritz had gone to gather wood. The lizard turned in place, matching Beynn’s every step. He and his father had encountered a gorkin once before, and Beynn tried desperately to remember his father’s tactics to kill the great lizard. He knew better than to try to attack the beast head-on. There were rumors that, because the lizard’s eyes were on the sides of its head, it couldn’t see forward very well. This faulty bit of information had led to a great number of travelers’ deaths over the years. Beynn knew that the gorkin’s only blind spot was directly behind. The problem became how to get behind a gorkin. For one person, this was virtually impossible. But maybe not for two.

Wednesday, August 6, 2014

NEW RELEASE Deceptive Series

************************New Release****************** Book 1 and 2 In the Deceptive Series. Rebecca is a beautiful ATF agent, sent undercover to bring down an outlaw biker gang. Unfortunately for her, Gavin makes it almost impossible to think about anything but his dreamy body. Rebecca solves the case, and accidentally falls in love with the Outlaw biker president, and goes on another scary adventure. Will Rebecca survive the new mission, or will this be her last? Kindle US - http://amzn.to/1kl5Hpz Kindle UK - http://amzn.to/1srBB43 iTunes - http://bit.ly/1srBDZu Nook - http://bit.ly/1kl5F0V Smashwords - http://bit.ly/1srBDZy

Monday, August 4, 2014

Review&Rating Purpose by Kristie Cook [soul savers book#2]

Book Info:
Title:  Purpose
Author: Kristie Cook
Format: Kindle Edition
Published:  Dec 5, 2010
Back Cover Synopsis

New Adult Paranormal Romance by bestselling author Kristie Cook ** Mature Content ** Recommended for ages 16+ due to sexual situations and language

The story that began with Promise continues in Book 2 of the Soul Savers Series.

Defending souls is her purpose...but can she save her own?

Lost in despair, Alexis teeters on the edge of an abyss, her lifeline of hope fraying into a thin thread. If it snaps, she'll plunge into complete darkness. With the help of her son and her writing, she's been able to hold on. Until now. Erratic impulses, disturbing delusions and her own demonic blood threaten her sanity. When she's forced to choose between hanging onto hope or letting go to serve her Amadis purposes, she faces a decision with inconceivable sacrifices.

Alexis runs to the one place she thinks will provide answers, only to find herself at the center of another battle of good versus evil, not only with the Daemoni, not only within herself...but also against the worst opponent imaginable. But even if she wins, what will she lose?

My Review: 
Book two was just as amazing as book one. I love getting into alexis life alone and how much it matters to had your soulmate around. I won't spoil it but i would recommend it to anyone who likes a good paranormal

new book release by kate stewart! check it out

Never Me by Kate Stewart I was a thief of men…a whore. Not the conventional type that got paid for sex. I was the girl you talked about in your sad inner circle. The girl you shielded your boyfriend from as you cleverly covered him with your body when I came near. I was a threat to you. Keeping him safe in your grasp was smart. One week...one incredible week was all it took to forever change me. I was NEVER going to be you … until I met HIM. http://www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B00LWF3JDW/ref=redir_mdp_mobile http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00LWF3JDW/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?qid=1405667093&sr=8-4&pi=AC_SX110_SY165 http://m.barnesandnoble.com/w/never-me-edee-m-fallon-mad-spark-editing/1119968346?ean=2940149739653

Wednesday, July 30, 2014

YEAR LONG GIVEAWAY

I am going to run a giveaway for the first year of my book blog. You can get more entries daily! Share with you friends

I will be giving away a 20$ amazon gift card

Post here if you entered to earn an extra entry :)

https://www.facebook.com/FromCovertoCoverReviews/app_228910107186452

Friday, June 27, 2014

Review&Rating Thursday Nights by Lisa N. Paul

Book Info:
Title:  Thursday Nights
Author: Lisa N. Paul
Format: Kindle Edition
Published:  May  6, 2013
Back Cover Synopsis

Pain can leave even the strongest of people weak and hollow. But when fate brings two weak souls together, will the love they find mend the fragments that are barely holding them together, or will the weight of their past finally cause them to crumble?


Max DeLucca has spent seven years trying to forget the betrayal of his past. He lives his life from day to day never looking forward and never looking back. The walls around his heart keep anyone from getting too close and prevent him from feeling too much…until he meets her.


Her entire life, Janie Silver searched for the kind of love that wouldn’t leave her broken and more importantly, wouldn't leave her behind. She longs for a love that can heal the wounds of her past and give her the future she knows she deserves. She thought she was looking for something that just didn’t exist…until she meets him.


Danny’s on Main is where their story begins. A neighborhood bar where strangers become friends, friends become family and some … become lovers
… it all started on Thursday Nights

My Review: 
I enjoyed this book but It felt like a few chapters just dragged on. Good storyline

Review& Rating Promise by Kristie Cook

Book Info:
Title:  Promise
Author: Kristie Cook
Format: Kindle Edition
Published:  July 30, 2010
Back Cover Synopsis

Alexis Ames has a life full of promise...but not all promises can be kept.

When Alexis Ames is attacked by creatures that can't be real, she decides it's time she learns who she really is, with or without the help of her mother, who guards their family's secrets closely. After meeting the inhumanly attractive, multi-talented Tristan Knight, however, Alexis retreats behind her fa├žade of normalcy...until she discovers he's not exactly normal either. Then their secrets begin to unravel.

Their union brings hope and promise to her family's secret society, the Angels' army, and to the future of mankind. But it also incites a dangerous pursuit by the enemy - Satan's minions and Tristan's creators. After all, Alexis and Tristan are a match made in Heaven and in Hell.

My Review: 
From page one I felt like I was Alexis. I fell for Tristan a little faster then she did. After finding out more about who Alexis was and who Tristan was I fell in love with the story more. I can not wait to read the rest of the series! 


Still AVAILABLE FOR FREE

http://www.amazon.com/Promise-Soul-Savers-Series-Book-ebook/dp/B005GGMC1I

Thursday, June 26, 2014

FACEBOOK!

Hey everyone i have created a Facebook page where i will also be linking to each review. I will also be doing a few giveaways in the coming weeks. be sure to like us on Facebook

facebook.com/FromCovertoCoverReviews

Wednesday, June 25, 2014

Review&Rating The Overlord's Bride by Margaret Moore


Book Info:
Title:  The Overlord's Bride
Author:Margaret Moore
Format: Kindle Edition
Published:  May 10, 2001
Back Cover Synopsis

Twas Murder Most Foul... Or Was It?
Lord Kirkheathe's first wife was dead, and though his liege lord deemed him guiltless, rumor yet tarred his reputation. Now Elizabeth Perronet found herself his newly wedded bride with a question of her own: If Raymond D'Estienne were truly no savage, how had he unleashed in her things so...untamed and wild?
Treachery, Thy Name Is Woman!
Or so believed Raymond D'Estienne, courtesy of his late wife. What, then, was he to make of the remarkable Elizabeth Perronet, fresh from the convent and determined to change his life--in ways he'd never dreamed!

My Review: 
This book caught me from page one. I love reading historic books and this was a gift from a friend. I enjoyed the entire store. The main female character is a strong woman. I felt like i could relate to her because  I am like her. I would recommend this book to anyone who likes romance and history

Thursday, June 12, 2014

Hello!

MY FIRST POST! 

So I guess an intro is whats needed. I love to read but it has to be a really good book for me to keep reading. My favorite genre is romance! Oh I forgot to mention my name! hehe It's Maggie. I got into wanting to review books because of my older sister and a friend ive known for almost my whole life. I can't wait to read more books! And if you have any suggestions for a book please tell me :)


Review&Rating SAVED by Kelly Elliot


Book Info:
Title: SAVED
Author: Kelly Elliot
Format:Kindle Edition
Published:  April 4th 2013
Back Cover Synopsis

Arianna and Jefferson’s love is true but will it be enough? 

Ari who comes from a loving home with a family who has had more than their share of difficulties, is faced with possibly losing the love of her life. All she dreams of is growing old and having children with Jeff, but a family history and a conniving Rebecca could shatter that dream. Trying to support Jeff and cope with all the truths and possibilities of her own destiny may prove to be more than one person can handle.

Jeff’s dream is to raise horses on his ranch in Mason with the only women who has ever filled his heart and soul. But he’s running the risk of losing her by trying to be the man he knows he should be by taking on his responsibilities. He’s completely bewitched by the passionate and always outspoken Ari, but needs to do right for the child that could possibly be his.

Despite all the odds stacked against them can their relationship be…..SAVED


My Review: 
As soon as I finished reading wanted I had to start SAVED. I was eager to find out Ari and Jeffs life. It sucked me in from page one right back into Mason TX. I could see the ranch and everything. I couldn't put it down till I finished it. I can not wait for Faithful to come out to read more about the whole gang. I consider them my book best friends <3

Review&Rating WANTED BY Kelly Elliot

Book Info: 
Title Wanted
            Author: Kelly Elliot
Format: Paperback, 2nd edition, 503 pages
Published: December 28, 2012)
Back Cover Synopsis:


Verbally abused by her mother for years, 18 year old Ellie Johnson always believed she would never be loved or wanted by anyone. She focused all of her attention on her grades and getting into the University of Texas to start a new life away from her mother. The last thing Ellie expected was to fall in love with Gunner Mathews, a starting linebacker for the University of Texas football team and not to mention, her brothers best friend. 
Gunner only had two passions in life, football and his grandfather’s ranch, until he falls for his best friends little sister. He will stop at nothing to show Ellie how much he wants her, even if it means he has to move faster than she would like.  Gunner knows they are meant to be together forever, but Ellie keeps denying her feelings out of fear of being hurt again. Every time he gets close to winning her love, something pushes her away again. Will Ellie ever be able to let go of the past and let him into her heart and will Gunner be patient enough to wait for her?
What will it take for them to realize they are all each other have ever WANTED


My Review: 
This book had me from the first sentence. I learn about it on Facebook. I follow the author and the man she used for inspiration for the character Gunner Matthews. When I found it on sale on amazon I just had to download it and finally read it. Ellie dragged me into her world. I felt like i was walking around with her an Ari. The character POV changes made things even better because you can get more then one point of view about the same event in an upcoming chapter. Overall such an amazing story. There should be more men like Gunner in the world!

Rating&Review Silver River Romeo by Amelia Rose

Book Info
Title: Silver River Romeo
Author: Amelia Rose
Format: Paperback, 124 pages
Published: June 11, 2013

Back Cover Synopsis

Cole McKenna has been a rancher at Silver River since he was old enough to walk. He doesn't mind the scars and bruises, but he's starting to hate the feeling of being tied down, especially when the neighboring ranch is put up for sale. Raven Branch has always called to him and when a pretty young woman from the city arrives to take over he is determined not to let her ruin his favorite piece of land. Soon he has to wonder though. Is he keeping an eye on the ranch...or the woman?



My review:
The story was good but I feel it was rushed. Develop it a little more and get into the details more. You go from the two main characters not on good terms and within one chapter they are having sex and happy as could be together. I think it should have started at them just being friends first and developing their relationship a little more. Overall it wasn't bad but it wasn't great.